Reincarnation


Photo by Al Forbes

Photo Copyright Al Forbes

This is a 100-word challenge from Friday Fictioneers. Have fun, and let me know what you think.

“You’re sure that’s Hermes?”

“Trust me, Eury.” She loosened her hood’s drawstrings. The dark cloth squirmed under her touch. “I would know.”

Eury glanced at her sister’s writhing hood, then pushed back her own hair and put an arm around her.

“Why you, and not me?”

“First time around, you were born that way. I was cursed to be who I am.”

“What’s your plan when you find him?”

Medusa removed her sunglasses, careful not to meet her sister’s gaze. Wearily, she rubbed her eyes, then replaced her dark glasses. “This time it’s Percy’s turn to lose his head.”


26 responses to “Reincarnation

  1. Can’t wait to read your modern-day take on Medusa–not the most attractive mythological character around. Good beginning with this story.

  2. I love what you did with this. As you said, another look at Medusa! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  3. Wonderful play on mythology. The writhing hood gave me goosebumps, as I sensed what was coming. Very powerful and compelling imagery. Bravo!

  4. Dear Miss Pickens,

    Percy is such a nice change from Perseus and the sunglasses and writhing headgear was a great touch. This here and now of the gods among us was great. Very immediate and believable.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Aw, thanks! I hope to drag the Medusa story into the modern day at some point. She’s someone who I think got a raw deal in the Greek stories, and I aim to correct it. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  5. Dear Cherry,

    This was a different perspective. One never thinks of Medusa in sympathetic terms. Nicely done.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Medusa is a favorite of mine, Rochelle. I write about her often. It’s my own way of trying to bring her back, and right the wrongs that have been dealt by history. Thanks for reading!

  6. An imaginative take on the prompt, Cherry. Loved it.

  7. Very nice! I agree with the other commenters…the squirming, writhing hood was extremely effective.

    • Thanks! I had to figure out some kind of way to drop an early hint as to her identity, even if it is a short, 100-word story. I appreciate your time and comment!

  8. i liked this a lot. a great modern version with medusa as the protagonist 🙂 i liked the writhing hood too,nice touch

    • Thank you! I like the idea of Medusa in modern times. It means she’s still alive. 🙂 I appreciate your read and comment!

  9. Ha great mythology upgrade and turning of the tables.

  10. Great turn around for this story. Lots of folks have had Medusa as a character, but you have two! And they are co-starring! The sunglasses were a nice touch.

  11. This was a really nice play on the classical characters. Loved the details of the sunglasses and the writhing hood as well.

    • Thank you, Helena! I don’t know what a modern day Medusa would do without her Oakleys. 😉 I appreciate your time in reading and commenting.

  12. Ooh!This is a superliciously cool take on the prompt-love where you took it-love the modern Medusa wearing Sunglasses and her protective stance towards her sis-very cute!

  13. I agree with Sandra. You had me at “the dark cloth squirmed.” And I think I’ll root for Medusa this time around.

  14. Very clever. I thought the image of the writhing hood was quite compelling. Well done. 🙂

What's on your mind?

