Writing can be Easy


small__2394843377I know that I said not long ago that writing is hard. And to be honest, good writing is hard. Practice writing, however, is easy.

Writing doesn’t have to be an onerous chore if all you’re doing is writing for the love of seeing the characters appear on your computer screen. Writing can be fun. An adventure. A dalliance. You just have to think about it in a different way. Don’t put put off writing just because you want every word to be perfect. If that’s your plan, you’ll never get anything done. Instead,  sit down in front of your keyboard and start tapping out anything that comes to mind. Let your mind wander and tap those keys until they rattle with your brilliance.

That’s the whole premise behind NaNoWriMo. It’s not about creating an award-winning book. It’s about lubricating your mind – getting the process moving.

Years ago (I’m not going to say how long), I tried my hand at automatic writing. I closed my eyes, put pencil to paper and wrote whatever words crossed my mind. At first it was little more than gibberish: random words and sentence fragments. But after about 30 minutes, the fragments and thoughts began to take shape. Paragraphs emerged. Then a chapter. Soon, I had a feasible short story. It was still a jumble, and because I was using an #2 pencil, it was barely legible. But I had the beginnings of a real short story.

Then came the next part. Editing.

Believe me. Writing is easy. It’s the editing that sucks.

photo credit: pedrosimoes7 via photopin cc


What's on your mind?

