Thirteen Words + Thirty-Three – a Trifecta prompt


33 words for the Trifecta Prompt:

In The Scorpio Races, author Maggie Stiefvater writes, “It is the first day of November and so, today, someone will die.”  Give us the next thirty-three words of this story, as you imagine it.  Take it wherever you like, but make it original and make it 33 words exactly.

It is the first day of November and so, today, someone will die quietly, while another dies shrieking. Both were born exactly thirty-three years ago. Tranquility and peace marked the life of one; the other spent his days in a long and exuberant scream of delight.

http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/2013/11/trifextra-week-ninety-two.html

23 responses to “Thirteen Words + Thirty-Three – a Trifecta prompt

  1. Pingback: It is crafty | Jyothi's Day Out

  2. Interesting concept. i really loved that you adapted the sentence instead of keeping the original whole.

    • Thanks! Whenever I can, I like taking a sentence for a ride. This one seemed perfect. Thanks for coming by and sharing your thoughts. :)

  3. Hmmmm Wondering which belongs to whom?
    (And I saw what you did there with the 33 years:)

  4. Loved the contrast:-)I would of course like to go screaming-with delight-never been the one to be quiet,lol!

  5. I’m not sure which one I would prefer!

  6. Intriguing piece! I’m left wondering not about their differences, but about their similarities. What is it that they share?

    Hope you will join in the Trifecta challenge again :))

  7. I can hear the screams and the shrieks and both are delightful. Great post and take on the challenge.

    • Thanks! I’m glad that you picked up an audible from my attempt at this 33-word challenge. It’s been fun, and I appreciate you coming by to comment. :)

  8. Screams of delight are much preferable to the other kind. Great post!

    • Screams of any kind can be terrible, but I find the delightful ones the most terrifying as they can quickly shift to terror. Thanks for reading. :)

  9. I was also drawn to the scream of delight. Nice contrast between the two!

  10. Scream of delight…has me thinking.

What's on your mind?

