Am I Pretty? – WIP


I’m not trying to write 50,000 words this month, even though I’m taking part in NaNoWriMo. Instead, I’m using the yearly challenge as motivation. I’m working to write every day. No matter what. That’s often my single largest issue. I let things stand in the way of my writing. But not this month. Not November 2013. This month, I’ll write every day, no matter what. Here’s my latest work-in-progress – Am I Pretty? I’m not going to give you the rundown, because even I don’t know what that is yet. Remember, I’m a seat of the pants kind of writer. I just start putting down words, and I wait for a direction to emerge. So … here’s the get-go of this work:


AmIPretty“Butterfly Twinkle Power.” Twyla held the small jar at eye level and peered at it closely. The substance inside appeared white and creamy, not powder at all.

But … ter … fly … twink … le … pow … der.” She repeated the name again slowly, enunciating each syllable, as though that might help her discern the contents of the unknown product. Chinese glyphs danced across the glass, pressed into the jar when it was fired, and they were not at all helpful.

The old man leaned across the scarred wooden counter that separated him from his potential customer and took the jar from her fingers. Balancing it on his fingertips, the old man held the jar up high so it was illuminated by a shaft of sunlight cutting through the dirty windows of his shop. He held it like a relic, and a slight glow highlighted the jar: the contents appeared to be luminescent.

“With this,” he whispered in voice cracked with age, “you can restore anything.”

Twyla’s gaze followed the jar into the sunlight. Around her, the rest of the old man’s store faded into the background. Shelves filled with curiosities from around the world seemed to vanish in the dimly lit store. She blinked her gray eyes slowly and licked her cracked lips.

“Anything?” she murmured, more to herself than the old man.


That’s it for now. I’ve got some thinking to do before I can get this story running again. Thanks for reading.

photo credit: rachel a. k. via photopin cc


2 responses to “Am I Pretty? – WIP

  1. Wow! What a fantastic start to your novel! I want to keep reading. And you can’t ask for more than that! Good luck on your month of writing. Just keep going forward! (I try to write everyday and that motto keeps me going.) :D

    • Aw, thanks Linda! You made me want to write another thousand words. Now all I have to figure out is what happens next. ;) I appreciate you taking the time to let me know what you think.

What's on your mind?

